Good Morning Sunshine II

“Good Morning Sunshine”

28×42
Oil on Canvas
$14,000

Here is the completed interior painting.  When we started this drawing baby Hazel was 3 months old.  Now that we finished, she is now 10 months old!   When drawing from life, just try keeping a baby still, or even somewhat in the same spot,  I knew from the start this would be hard.  This was more challenging then I had guessed it to be. In time I learned that if someone came to visit in my studio and stood just behind Leslie, Hazel would almost always go into the same pose.  Then the challenge was to paint as fast as I could as Hazel was growing. There were things we added later (like her blond hair) and her cute smiling laugh.  Still keeping her 3 month old body and pose.  This is why the blanket appeared, to hide the squiggling.

The hardest part was to draw everything else in the room (persepectively speaking) and make it all look right.  If that was easier, I may have finsihed this months ago.  Now at least I know how to solve all those issues, or at least alot of them.  Next time should not take me nearly as long.

I titled this GOOD MORNING SUNSHINE, as I could hear my mom come into my room when I was little to wake me up.  She would always say “Good morning sunshine.”  With the sun coming in the room, and Leslie picking up Hazel after a nap, you can just hear her whisper to her “Good morning sunshine.”

Leave a Reply

